Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

See Native Americans And See Our Future!?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• See Native Americans And See Our Future!?

Is this our future?

I have been traveling the country for the last 6 months and one of my stops was SD. I spent about 6 weeks in the Custer, Custer State Park and The Black Hills. At one point, the weather got so bad I ended up spending about 3 weeks in a motel run by Sioux Indians. So I got the opportunity to learn a lot.
    But what this post is about is a brief reflection of the Native American since the white man came and stole their land, decimated their way of life and basically enslaved them. An analogy of what happened to the Indians by govt. and what is happening to us, all of us, NOW.

Stolen Land
    Stolen land and broken promises. The Native Americans lost most of their land and were given reservations in some of the worst, most inhabitable, infertile land throughout the United States.
    I drove through parts of the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation on my way to the Badlands. I got myself lost at one point and stopped at a police station for directions. There were bullet holes in their bullet proof glass and the bathrooms hadn't seen a plumber in God only knows how long. The water was running and the floor wet from overflowing. This, in the woman's bathroom. I was grateful for my 4X4 even on their city streets as the ditches and missing concrete were THAT deep.