Film deal cookin (kind of long post)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Film deal cookin (kind of long post)

So I was talking with AA about a film deal I got cookin and he told me to jump on and share some details.

I have been writing for 30 years (only serious for about the last 10). Its a huge deal for a writer to land a book contract, like AA got with his series (congrats!), or a film deal like I just secured. I have been working on the script (writing and research) for the last year. On the surface, the film is a 50's sci-fi throwback film like those movies you used to love. But it is also a dark political satire (think Dr Strangelove or Buckaroo Banzai).

This film calls Washington DC on the carpet, with a President who is beholden to a shadow administrator who he will do anything to protect. At the same time, he is self-righteous and manipulative and will do anything to secure his power of office.

A well known director has picked up the film. This guy has done feature length 12 films, one of the most successful being made for 335K and making 23 million. Yep. He did. So he knows how to make money. We (he and I) are in a 3-step process to get this thing rolling.

First step, seed budget- secure $2,500 to use in step one to produce the materials to get to step 2.
    Step 2, promo budget- secure 25K to use to produce the promotional pkg to use to talk to the people who will finance the movie's production budget
    Final step- use the money from step 2 to talk to the investors and raise appx 1.5M to get movie shot.