Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Fish

Hey ya'll

Just touching base and saying hello. My names Troy. I'm a mechanical engineer (plumbing/mechanical) husband and father of 3 teenagers

Like many of you I see in the welcome center.....I've never been a reader.

After getting to know my neighbor over the last 4 years he came over to the house with "Going Home"

That night I sad down on the couch next to my wife to read for a book for the first time in my 41 years. She was shocked. HAPPY...but shocked. She too picked up a book she had been reading and we sat there in silence for HOURS. When she finally broke the silence Morgan and Thad had just dropped Jess off and heading in separate directions.

One thing I learned from that night of (to me) Marathon reading, was that after having glasses for driving for 11 years (Nearsighted) I'd come to the tragic realization that I needed some cheap 1.5x CVS readers.

not being one to EVER let me go without something I thought I needed my wife made a stop at CVS and picked me up a great pair. The next night I devoured another chunk of "Going Home"

After the weekend I returned "Going Home" in hopes that he had "Surviving Home". I was pleased to learn he had all three! And in no time I was into book 3.

It only took a weekend to plow thru book 3 and learn there was NOT a book 4 (yet)

Throughout the years I've NEVER understood why people get so excited about a new book (harry Potter...hunger games....etc) I always thought it was pretty lame. But yet...here I find myself jones'ing for the ink to dry off the presses for book 4.

AA.....you've created a monster! Take that as a compliment! No writer or subject has EVER held my attention, kept me guessing (I can usually see the most shocking things coming from a mile away) and made me as anxious as you have.