Quest for a new job

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Quest for a new job

Not that any of the glue sniffers care, I just felt the need to tell someone, anyone and felt the fellow paste eaters, glue sniffers, window lickers and others were the ones to bother the most right now. I have been an EMT for over a year now have been employed by a private EMS company (which will remain nameless to protect the innocent and the guilty) for almost the entire time. The past 6 months or so the company has gone down hill and most of my friends there have been jumping ship left and right, and hopefully, I will be too in the next week or two. Those that remain, moral is so low it's at the point if the company went under and everyone lost their jobs, it would improve. It has gotten to the point that I have a feeling of dread when I go there. It's sad when an EMS service, though private, can barely keep their units running, can barely keep required supplies in stock, and can barely keep the bills paid (from supplies to the fuel in the units and everything in between including mechanical parts) and yet they blame these problems on the employees. The bright side is I just finished phase 2 of 5 or 6 in trying to get on with my county EMS. I will be going from a strait hourly pay with no benefits (no insurance, sick time, vacation, and as of late not even pats on the back or even OT allowed at all) where a starting cook position at Bojangles (for the people not in the south, it's like a KFC only better) starts off making more than someone starting off at my company. I found out recently that the only benefits I could get and should have, they have cheated me out of for the past 6 + months, which is just every 2 weeks to get a few hours off that you can accumulate. If I get hired by the county EMS I will make a few dollars more an hour than the cooks with full benefits (vacation, sick time, insurance dental/medical, retirement ect.), guaranteed/mandatory overtime, plus