Communication/Comms, is it important?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Communication/Comms, is it important?

Hello everyone - I'm new to the forum so maybe I missed it - how many of you believe that the ability to communicate (locally and to the outside world beyond a few hundred miles) should be a part of your long-term preparations?

How many here have a FCC/amateur radio license?

I don't ask because Im an expert - not by any stretch of the imagination - but I have given some thought to the idea. Perhaps I came to this conclusion due to where I live and the weather conditions causing intermittent communication "blackouts" certain times of the year?
    Anyone can put up with a few days of the knower going out. However, I have family over 300 miles away, as well as within 5 to 30 miles from me. There were times when I didn't know if my brother was ok, hadn't heard from my aging parents in weeks, and had no insight as to their conditions...health, food, water, or safety...so I resolved to do something about the situation.

At any rate - last year I made contact with someone who knew what they were doing, that helped me buy a radio for my needs, helped point me in the direction of how to get a license, studied for/received a license, set up and made communications. Since then I have added a small solar back-up energy re-charging system to help me run completely off of DC should I need to - and I am currently doing research into the NTS(D) (a volunteer system of digital message forwarding stations using HF radio) to send/forward email/message "traffic" around the state, nation, or globe.

The equipment is pretty easy to learn, not too expensive, and the concepts easy enough to grasp that a non-tech guy like me has had a BLAST making contacts and learning how to work my rig to get and give information - so that I'm not caught flat-footed and surprised - when the S finally does HTF...

So - that's me - what do YOU think?

White Tiger,

Welcome.