Storage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Storage

I hate to admit that at age 40 I am just starting to learn about growing my own veggies and canning. Sure wish now I paid more attention back when my
    grandpa was a live, a lot of knowledge just gone and not passed down..

So my question is what kind of experation date does canning have? Does it depend on what it is? Is there a book or site that offer this kind of info?
    Starting to stock up food, but I also do not want grow, can more food than we will use. I guess more is better… Thanks
    "You have been baptized in fire and blood and have come out steel!!!"

Some stuff holds up better than other things, but when it comes to shelf life, there are people who have years of food, including home-canned, in a basement or root cellar. Sometimes people get something tested - if you follow safe procedures it should be good for quite a long time. Some companies that sell for food storage will regularly open and test items that were set aside many years ago, checking safety, and if safe, then nutrients, flavor, and texture.

It's an honest way to determine shelf life.

For canning your own, you will want to get at least a "Ball Blue Book" - make sure you get the most recent one you can find, as it will have any updated information on equipment, pectin and other products, and some good recipes.

Once you get off to a good start and have the science down, you'll find yourself getting more recipes, or getting grandparents' recipes from any cousins that may have them. You may find you especially enjoy canning vegetables, or meats, or you like how your own salsa recipe turns out (spices tend to intensify.)

Do you have any canning equipment yet?
    Last edited by W.Lynn; 01-12-2014, 02:50 AM.
    quam minimum credula postero

Comment

Also, if you don't mind old info, much is free.

http://nchfp.uga.edu/publications/pu...ions_usda.html

Comment